Angels today: all about angels

Home page

Religious images
Modern images

Site map
Voting №1

Contact us
A system of seven archangels is an old tradition in Abrahamic religions. The earliest reference to a system of seven archangels appears to be in Enoch I (the Ethiopian Enoch), where they are given as Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, Raguel, Zerachiel and Remiel. Centuries later, Pseudo-Dionysius gives them as Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, Chamuel, Jophiel, and Zadkiel. Pope Gregory I lists them as Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, Simiel, Orifiel, and Zachariel. Eastern Orthodoxy venerates Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, Selaphiel, Jegudiel, and Barachiel. Another Catholic variation lists them as follows, with corresponding days of the week: Michael (Sunday), Gabriel (Monday), Raphael (Tuesday), Uriel (Wednesday), Sealtiel (Thursday), Jhudiel (Friday)and Barachiel (Saturday).

In Judaism there are no explicit references to archangels in the canonical texts of the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament).
In Kabbalah, and the Book of Enoch chapter 20, and the Life of Adam and Eve, the usual number of archangels given is at least seven, who are the focal angels. Three higher archangels are also commonly referenced: Michael, Raphael, and Gabriel. There is confusion about one of the following eight names, concerning which one listed is not truly an archangel. They are: Uriel, Sariel, Raguel, and Remiel (possibly the Ramiel of the Apocalypse of Baruch, said to preside over true visions), Zadkiel, Jophiel, Haniel and Chamuel.

In Christianity The New Testament rarely speaks of angels, and makes only two references to archangels: Michael in Jude 1.9 and I Thessalonians 4:16, where the "voice of an archangel" will be heard at the return of Christ. In later Church tradition, however, there are three archangels: Michael, Gabriel, and usually Raphael; sometimes Uriel is given as a fourth. Eastern Orthodox tradition mentions "thousands of archangels" but venerates only seven of them by name. Uriel is included, and the other three are most often named Selaphiel, Jegudiel, and Barachiel.

In Islam, the named archangels include Michael or Mikail (archangel of sustenance), Gabriel or Jibril (archangel of revelation; who brought the Qur'an to Muhammad), and the Angel of Death- a common name for the angel is Izra-eel.-; however, not mentioned in any scriptures. The names that are mentioned include the "Angel of Death" or Malak al-Maut, Israfil or Israfil (archangel who is to blow the horn on Judgment Day), Maalik (Keeper of Hell), Munkar and Nakir (Angels of Interrogation that will question deceased souls on their life before their death) and Radwan (Keeper of Heaven). Neither Israfil nor Izrail are mentioned in the Qur'an, however, and neither Nakir nor Munkar are mentioned as archangels in the Qur'an or any other Islamic Text.
Archangel Michael
Michael: "Who is like unto God?".
The Holy Archangel Michael is one of the most celebrated of the Angels and bodiless powers; he is called the Archistrategos, or chief commander, of all the bodiless powers.

Archangel Gabriel
Gabriel: "The Power or Strength of God".
In Islam, he is called the chief of the four favoured angels and the spirit of truth, and in some views Gabriel is the same person as the Holy Spirit. Christians and Muslims believe him to have foretold the births of John the Baptist and Jesus to Zacharias and the Virgin Mary respectively, and Muslims believe he was the medium through which God revealed the Qur'an to Muhammad.

Archangel Raphael
Raphael: "The Healing of God".
Raphael (Standard Hebrew רפאל, "God has healed", "God Heals", "God, Please Heal", and many other combinations of the two words, Arabic: Israfil, اسرافيل) is the name of an archangel of Judaism, Christianity and Islam, who performs all manner of healing.

Archangel Uriel
Uriel: "The Light or Fire of God".
Uriel (אוּרִיאֵל "Flame of God", Auriel/Oriel (light of god) Standard Hebrew Uriʾel, Tiberian Hebrew ʾÛrîʾēl) is one of the archangels of post-Exilic Rabbinic tradition, and also of certain Christian traditions. His name may have analogies with Uriah.

Archangel Jegudiel
Jehudiel: "The Glory, Laudation or Praise of God".
Jegudiel is one of the seven Archangels in Eastern Orthodox tradition. He is often depicted in iconography holding a crown and a three-thonged whip.

Archangel Jeremiel
Jeremiel "Height of God"

Archangel Selaphiel
Selaphiel: "The Command, Communicant or Prayer of God".
Selaphiel or Sealtiel (Aramaic цмъйам Tzelathiel "Prayer of God", Heb. щамъйам Shealtiel), sometimes identified with Salathiel from the Second Book of Esdras. He is one of the seven archangels in Eastern Orthodox tradition.

Archangel Barachiel
Barachiel: "The Benediction or Blessings of God".
Barachiel is one of the seven Archangels in Eastern Orthodox tradition. In iconography he is sometimes shown holding a white rose against his chest, or with rose petals scattered on his clothing.

Archangel Raguel
Raguel: "The Friend of God".
Raguel (Raguil, Rasuil, Rufael, Suryan, Akrasiel) is one of the 7 archangels mainly of the Judaic and Islamic traditions.

Archangel Ramiel
Ramiel: "Thunder of God".
Râmîêl (Aramaic: דעמאנל, Hebrew: רעמיאל Greek:‘Ραμιήλ) is the 6th leader mentioned in the Book of Enoch, he is a Grigori or Watcher.

Archangel Zerachiel
Zerachiel: "God's command"
Zerachiel is one of the primary angels who leads souls to judgement.

Archangel Chamuel
Chamuel: "Who sees God."
Chamuel (also known as Kemuel, Shemuel, Chamuel, Camiel, Camniel, Zamael, or Cancel) is an angel in Judeo-Christian mythology and angelology, and is often included in lists as being one of the seven archangels. Is claimed to be the leader of the forces that expel Adam from the Garden of Eden.

Archangel Jophiel
Jophiel: "The Beauty of God."
The Archangel Jophiel is also known as Iophiel, Iofiel, Jofiel, Yofiel ("Divine Beauty"), Youfiel and Zophiel ("My Rock is God").

Archangel Zadkiel
Zadkiel: "The Justice, Righteousness or Uprightness of God".
Zadkiel (Heb. цгчйам Tzadqiel, "Righteousness of God") is the archangel of freedom, benevolence, mercy, and the Patron Angel of all who forgive. Also known as Sachiel, Zedekiel, Zadakiel, Tzadkiel, and Zedekul.

Archangel Azrael
Azrael: Archangel of Death
Azrael is the Islamic Archangel of Death. He is also the Angel of Death in Judeo-Christian extrabiblical tradition and folklore. It is an English form of the Arabic name Azra'il (عزرائيل) or Azra'eil (عزرایل), the name traditionally attributed to the angel of death in Islam and some Hebrew lore.

Archangel Israfel
Israfel or Israfil (Arabic: ЕУСЗЭнбэ): "The Burning One"
Israfel is the angel of the trumpet in Islam, though unnamed in the Qur'an. Along with Mikhail, Djibril and Izra'il, he is one of the four Islamic archangels.

Archangel Metatron
Metatron: "Beyong throne."
Metatron is the name of an angel in Judaism and some branches of Christianity. There are no references to him in the Jewish Tanakh (Old Testament), the Christian Scriptures (New Testament) or any Islamic source. There is no consensus as to his genesis or the role that he plays in the hierarchy of Heaven and Hell.

Lucifer: "light-bearer", "Morning Star".
In modern and late Medieval Christian thought, Lucifer is usually a fallen angel identified as Satan, the embodiment of evil and enemy of God.